Accreditation's gate in France

Inspection section

Inspection section

Inspection section news

Click here to consult the latest news on the Inspection section (in French).
Click here to consult the documentation relating to the Inspection section (in French).

Mission and organisation

Mission: the accreditation of inspection bodies and bodies carrying out the verification of regulated measuring instruments in compliance with the ISO/IEC 17020 standard.

The inspection bodies play a major role in terms of the safety of goods and persons. They operate in many areas of inspection: electrical installations, dangerous machinery, hoisting, welding, pressure vessels, agri-food, health, environment, technical construction inspection, tourism, currently covered by accreditation (cf. document INS INF 06) (in French).

The accreditation procedure consists in assessing the organisational and technical provisions put in place by the body to perform the inspections. In order to be able to assess the competence of the body, the accreditation procedure also provides for observation of the inspectors performing the inspections at the client site.

The Inspection section is organized into two Poles: Building-Industry and Environment-Transport-Services.

The field of Legal Metrology

In accordance with the application of regulation (EC) n°765/2008 of 9 July 2008 setting out the requirements for accreditation activities, the Legal Metrology field was transferred frolm the Laboratories section to the Inspection section. As of 1 January 2016, a scheme has been set up, to progressively transfer the accreditations in Legal Metrology already issued toward accreditations compliant with the 2012 version of ISO/CEI 17020 and to apply this standard to new requests. This transitional phase will last for 3 years.

Legal metrology is used to guarantee, when in service, accurate and safe measurements for certain measuring instruments used for predefined purposes (transactions and application of laws), by defining the requirements that the instruments must satisfy throughout their life cycle.
Inspections are carried out at several stages (design, production, in service) and require the intervention of designated bodies, notified or approved by the public authorities in accordance with criteria stipulated in the regulations.

Cofrac's Inspection section is responsible for the accreditation of notified bodies as well as primitive or periodic verification bodies for certain categories of measuring instrument (e.g.: static and dynamic measurement of liquids other than water, automatic and non-automatic weighing instruments, etc.).

The verification activities performed on regulated measuring instruments are mentioned in Cofrac’s document INS INF 06, domain 18 « Legal Metrology ».

Le portail de l'accréditation en France
Choisissez votre profil

 
Rechercher un document
FAQ
Accredited EU ETS verifiers according to Regulation (EU) No 600/2012
Organismes accrédités pour le Règlement (UE) No 600/2012

Organismes d'inspection

Organismes d'inspection

Actualités de la section Inspection

Cliquer ici pour consulter les dernières actualités liées à la section Inspection.

Cliquer ici pour consulter la documentation liée à la section Inspection.

Mission et organisation de la section Inspection

Mission : accréditer les organismes d'inspection (appelés aussi bureaux de contrôle) ainsi que les organismes procédant à la vérification d’instruments de mesure réglementés selon la norme NF EN ISO/CEI 17020.

Les organismes d'inspection jouent un rôle majeur en matière de sécurité des biens et des personnes. Ils interviennent dans de nombreux secteurs du contrôle : installations électriques, machines dangereuses, levage, soudage, appareils à pression, agro-alimentaire, santé, environnement, contrôle technique construction, tourisme, aujourd'hui couverts par l'accréditation (cf. document INS INF 06).

La procédure d'accréditation consiste à évaluer les dispositions organisationnelles et techniques mises en place par l’organisme pour réaliser les inspections. Dans le but de pouvoir juger de la compétence de l’organisme, la procédure d’accréditation prévoit également d’observer des inspecteurs réalisant des contrôles sur site client.

La section Inspection est organisée en deux Pôles de compétences : le Pôle Bâtiment - Industrie et le Pôle Environnement - Transport - Services.

Le domaine de la Métrologie Légale

Conformément à l’application du règlement européen 765/2008 du 9 juillet 2008 qui encadre les activités d’accréditation, le domaine de la Métrologie Légale a été transféré de la section Laboratoires à la section Inspection. A compter du 1er janvier 2016, un dispositif permettant progressivement de transférer les accréditations en Métrologie Légale déjà délivrées vers des accréditations conformes à la version 2012 de l’ISO/CEI 17020, et d’appliquer cette norme à toute nouvelle demande, a été mis en place. Cette phase transitoire devrait se dérouler sur 3 ans.
La métrologie légale permet d’assurer, en service, des mesures justes et sûres pour certains instruments de mesures utilisés dans des usages définis (transactions et applications de lois), en définissant des exigences que les instruments doivent satisfaire tout au long de leur vie.

Le contrôle s’exerce à plusieurs stades (conception, production, en service) et font intervenir des organismes désignés, notifiés ou agrées par les pouvoirs publics selon des critères spécifiés dans la réglementation.

La section Inspection du Cofrac a en charge l’accréditation des organismes notifiés et des organismes procédant aux vérifications primitives ou périodiques, pour certaines catégories d’instruments de mesures (ex : mesurage statique et dynamique des liquides autres que l’eau, instruments de pesage à fonctionnement automatique et non automatique...).  Les activités de vérification réalisées sur les instruments de mesures règlementés sont mentionnées dans le document Cofrac INS INF 06 domaine n°18 « Métrologie Légale ».