Cofrac - Comité français d'accréditation
Cofrac, le portail de l'accréditation

Reference Standards

Reference Standards

The assurance of a solid guarantee
Assessments of those applying for accreditation are conducted on the basis of the prevailing European or international standards, standards from the NF EN ISO/IEC 17000 series, NF X 50-091, the EMAS Regulation, ISO 14065 and the EU Regulation n°600/2012. You are therefore assured of a solid guarantee, subject to regular inspection by recognised qualified assessors and experts.

Standards and guides used by accreditors for granting accreditation:

Test, analysis or calibration laboratories
NB: medical biology laboratories are also accredited in accordance with the ISO 15189 standard.
ISO/IEC 17025
ISO 15189
Inspection Bodies ISO/IEC 17020
Certification bodies
Certification bodies for management and technical qualification systems in companies ISO/IEC 17021
Personnel certification bodies ISO/IEC 17024
Certification bodies for products, services and processes ISO/IEC 17065
Bodies responsible for the qualification of companies NF X 50-091
Bodies responsible for checking environmental statements EC Regulation
No 1221/2009 (EMAS)
(in French SMEA, environmental management and audit system)
Bodies responsible for checking statements on greenhouse gas emissions NF EN ISO 14065 and EU Regulation n°600/2012
Organisation of Interlaboratory Comparisons ISO/IEC 17043

In order to harmonise their practices, the accreditors draw up guides on the interpretation of accreditation requirements. These guides are published by EA, ILAC and IAF, and are available on the websites of these organisations.

Accreditation bodies must also comply with the requirements of the standard applicable to them: the new ISO/IEC 17011 standard brings together the requirements of the three earlier texts covering all fields of accreditation.